WhatsApp number deactivation
What is WhatsApp account deactivation and its causes
What is WhatsApp number deactivation and its reasons?
After activating the number by scanning a QR code, our service gets access to the correspondence history. Loss of access to correspondence by our service is called deactivation.
Reasons why deactivation may occur:
- Access to our service was closed in the WhatsAppmobile app (Settings - Account - Computers and tablets - Deactivate).
- Access has been suspended by WhatsApp itself and requires re-scanning the code. In the desktop version of WhatsApp, you may have also encountered this when the “Set up a secure WhatsAppconnection” window appears.

The reasons for this window can be different, and in some cases, it may appear regardless of the user's actions. However, the most common reasons are:
- Uninstalling the WhatsApp mobile app on your phone;
- Changing the number in the WhatsApp mobile app;
- Activation was done from a device that had previously blocked other WhatsApp numbers;
- Activation was done from a suspicious device, e.g. Android emulator or suspicious IP addresses;
Internet or mobile device disconnection does not affect deactivation of the number.
Was this article helpful?
Share it with colleagues who might need it
Connect messengers to your CRM
Message clients first right from the client card and keep all conversations in your CRM. 7-day free trial, up to 40% off when connecting several numbers.